Education in Uriania











Back to Ortygia


There are 5 universities in Uriania, 2 in Byntland, 2 in the Urianian region, and curiously only 1 in Azuria, the most populous region. But the Academy of Mining at Finstad may also be classified as a university of its own kind.

The University of Wickford is the oldest one in the country, established 1636, before Southend had become the great centre that it is today.

The University of Southend was established in 1755.

The University of Borg was established in 1787.

The University of Uria was established as The Urianian Academy in 1833 and was renamed as a university in 1919.

The University of Little Urduk was established in 1870 as an agricultural school and was renamed as a university for its centenary in 1970.

The Finstad Mining Academy was established in 1759.

School system

Byntland was a part of the Scottish schooling system until 1917, the first to implement a broad public education in Europe since Sparta of classical Greece, with the Education Act of 1496. The Church of Scotland has run schools in every parish since the 1560s, and public education was a church business until the reforms of 1872.

Azuria, including the Urianian region, was part of the Danish schooling system until the 19th century, and like Denmark proper did not have compulsory education until 1814. With the establishment of the National Council in 1853, legislations began to differ, and a system of free education was passed in 1873 as one as the last acts of the council. It was affirmed by the Grand Assembly in 1887 and again in 1888, but not implemented until the turn of the century.

At the establishment of the republic in 1934, the school system was not unified like several other aspects of society, and Byntian schools still differ from those of the other regions in many ways, has a different progression, different subjects and subject selection, and a diversity of confessional and other special schools that do not exist in the more unified Azurian/Urianian system.